Chamber piece TETRA is Published

András Gábor Virágh: Tetra for Alto Saxophone and Piano Tetra was composed by András Gábor Virágh in 2010 and dedicated to Seleljo Duo. Erzsébet and Irén Seleljo premierred the piece, they played it all around Hungary and in abroad as well and it has been on their repertoire ever since. “Virágh’s complex harmonic and rhythmic language is combined with some extended techniques on... Read more »

A Personal Sound for Eternity

Author: Tamás Pallós, Új Ember (New People) – weekly printed newspaper, 19 March, 2017 Translated by László Kiss András Gábor Virágh’s musical world is recognized by an Erkel Award Photo: Zoltán Sebestyén   A recitalist organist, an active church musician and a composer who builds his works on tradition and his great predecessors, while making efforts to try to find his... Read more »

Mr. Virágh honoured with the Ferenc Erkel composition award

András Gábor Virágh, Junior Prima Price awarded composer was exceptionally honoured with the annual Ferenc Erkel Composer Award by the Government of Hungary. Ferenc Erkel (1810-1893) was a Hungarian composer, conductor and pianist. He was the father of the Hungarian grand opera, written mainly on historical themes, which are still often performed in Hungary. He also composed the music of “Himnusz”,... Read more »


Bella–Virágh–Solti–Mátyássy–Kutrik 2017.02.19 19.00, Solti Hall   Programme: Máté Bella: Laniakea András Gábor Virágh: Tres Orationes Árpád Solti: Kindergartenliedchen Szabolcs Mátyássy: Bipolar Etudes Bence Kutrik: Trembling Generations Y and Z of today’s Hungarian composers are heirs to the music tradition, hallmarked by György Ligeti and György Kurtág, which after Béla Bartók, Zoltán Kodály and Ernő Dohnányi raised Hungarian contemporary music into an... Read more »

World premiere of Mr. Virágh’s Sinfonietta

András Gábor Virágh (1984) must be one of those few people who can add extra hours to a normal day and spend 30 hours of it in a useful way. Owner of the Junior Prima Award and many other recognitions roughly equaling the number of his years, András Gábor Virágh pursues an almost untraceable number of activities. Without exhausting the... Read more »

András Gábor Virágh has received the Benedek Istvánffy award

This year, the Hungarian Composers’ Union gave the Benedek Istvánffy award named after the classic Hungarian composer for the 15th time. This award is given to a composer under 40 years of age for a piece of work presented in the previous year. In a strong competition this year, a one act opera by András Gábor Virágh titled Femme fatale 2200111XXG... Read more »